I RAN OUT OF FOOD!!

susan

Ramen noodles                  $1.79     1.79/6
Eggs                                      $1.20
Cereal                                   $0.99
Macaroni noodles              $0.89
Bread                                   $0.99
2 jars pizza sauce               $2.00
Peanut butter                      $1.79
Ground beef                        $1.69      $1.69#
Jelly                                        $1.25
Ricotta cheese                     $1.79
Mozzarella cheese              $1.79
1 gallon milk                        $1.87
Coffee                                   $3.00
Spaghetti noodles              $0.99
Grapes                                  $0.99
Blueberries                          $2.00
Strawberries                        $2.00

TOTAL:                                  $26.03

I went into the SNAP Experience thinking it would be an “easy week” since it was just me.  “I can eat off $29.00 for the week no problem” is what I kept thinking.  Boy was I wrong!

On day 2 of the SNAP Experience I forgot to take my meat out to defrost so I ate pasta with butter and garlic salt and 2 strawberries.  My 2 year old son (who was not participating in the SNAP Experience) wanted one of my strawberries.  I kept trying to give him other things but he did not want them, he only wanted MY strawberry.  I was tired, crabby and hungry.  Duke was crying for my strawberry so I gave it to him.  I can’t imagine having to give up my food on a regular basis to make sure my child gets to eat.   In reality, this happens nightly.

I ran out of coffee on Friday  and food on Saturday!  I was going to go shopping on Sunday with an additional $12 that could be used to supplement my budget but I didn’t have time to plan the grocery shopping trip and gave up.

Living on $29 a week for food is no bueno!  This has been a real eye opener and I can’t imagine having to do this every week, especially with Duke.

-Susan

Leave a comment