My weekend on the SNAP Experience

The weekend on the SNAP Experience was difficult. Friday night I had grilled chicken and broccoli for dinner. I tried a new recipe for the broccoli and it was delicious, tasted like kind of like kale chips!

broccoli

Preheat oven to 350

Chop up broccoli (don’t rinse immediately before preparing)

Mince 2-3 cloves of garlic

Place broccoli, garlic, 2 Tbsp. of olive oil, salt and pepper into a large Ziploc bag and shake

Place on baking sheet and bake for 30 min.

We were still hungry though:(

My husband and I walked up to the store Friday night with our last $3.63 to get some fruit for the weekend. Instead, our hunger pains took over and we purchased two frozen dinners for $1/each (ugh!) and a bag of chips for $1, for a total of $3.06. My husband even went as far to compare the amount of ounces and calories each frozen meal contained to get the most amount of food for his money.  I was happy to have $0.50 left over so that I could buy two more gallons of water.

Usually I can walk for miles (I love to hike) but I was surprised with how difficult it was for me to walk home from the store (which is like a half mile away). I had NO energy!

hootie

Saturday, my husband and I literally sat around for 10 minutes talking about how Hootie, my cat (name because he looks like an owl and not after the band) had ruined our sleeping the prior night for multiple reasons and were getting more and more annoyed as we talked. My husband finally said “Everything is Hootie’s fault!” and we started laughing. I think our hunger was getting the best of us.

1186310_10202036954668309_197883075_n

Sunday I went to yoga (a very chill class) and the owner just happened to have a few of these jars and gave me one. Says “Before you begin judging other people, take a walk in their shoes”. Fitting for the week and good follow up to the facebook debate on my page about people who use SNAP. People can be so judgmental what they think a SNAP recipient should wear, eat, drive, and act. The media has done an excellent job making the SNAP program seem like it’s full of fraud, but the fact is the SNAP fraud rate is less than 3%. Hopefully, this experience will encourage others to stick up for the SNAP program.

-Angela

Leave a comment